Latest News

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Delhi beat Vidarbha by 5 wickets | Cricket News

NAGPUR: Different format, same struggle —Vidarbha’s key batters found themselves in the mess for the second consecutive match in the last 10 days and it cost them dear on both the occasions. On Saturday, their Vijay Hazare Trophy campaign opener against Delhi followed the same script. Vidarbha’s top-5 batters could not convert their starts as they managed just 207 runs without playing the full quota of 50 overs in Kolkata.
Defending such a target was not going to be easy against Delhi’s formidable line-up led by Shikhar Dhawan. Though Vidarbha bowlers put up a brilliant show, the target was too less for a side like Delhi, who won by 5 wickets with 25 balls to spare.
Exactly 10 days ago, Vidarbha batters faced the similar conundrum in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy semifinal against Mumbai that denied them the ticket to final.
Playing Navdeep Saini-led Delhi attack, Vidarbha’s top-5 (in sequence) Atharva Taide (20 off 36b), Faiz Fazal (19 off 30b), Ganesh Satish (45 off 74b), Akshay Wadkar (29 off 38b) and Apoorv Wankhade (37 off 47) were in command. Unfortunately, no one anchored the innings and the batters got out when holding fort was the need of the hour.
Vidarbha saw a collapse as soon as No.4 Wadkar got out. They were 119 for 2 and in the next 19.4 overs they lost 8 wickets, setting an easy target for Dhawan-led Delhi.
Delhi got a good start and were 111 for 1 with Dhawan and No.3 Yash Dhull (37 off 27b) adding 62 runs for the second wicket. As soon as Aditya Sarwate (10-0-29-2) was brought in, he removed both Dhawan and Dhull in the 22nd over.
In the very next over, Umesh Yadav got his KKR teammate Nitish Rana (1). Later, Delhi batters became cautious against Sarwate and Akshay Karnewar (8-0-43-2). Experienced campaigner Lalit Yadav (56 n.o) dug in when Delhi lost quick wickets and took them across the line.
Vidarbha face Karnataka today
Wadkar-led Vidarbha would look to address the batting trouble when they take on Karnataka on Sunday. It is an important game for Vidarbha to keep their chances of entering knockout alive. Karnataka recorded an easy 115 runs win over Meghalaya on Saturday.
Brief scores: Vidarbha 207 all out in 47.2 overs (Ganesh Satish 45, Apoorv Wankhade 37; Ishant Sharma 3-24, Navdeep Saini 3-64) lost to Delhi 208 for 5 in 44.5 overs (Shikhar Dhawan 47, Lalit Yadav 56 n.o; Aditya Sarwate 2-29, Akshay Karnewar 2-43) by 5 wickets.

Via Source link

Most Popular

To Top